National Seed Quality Control Services

National Seed Quality Control Services


The National Seed Quality Control Services Division (NSQCSD), as mandated by the Seed Industry Act of 1992 (Republic Act 7308), supports the major thrusts of the Department of Agriculture and the Bureau of Plant Industry through the provision of quality assurance and control services for seed and planting material production, processing, storage and distribution, seed research and seed training in seed quality control towards sustainable agriculture and environmental protection.

The BPI-NSQCSD has stations spread across the country in the spirit of greater accessibility of the Bureau's services relevant to the agency's efforts to uphold availability of quality seeds.




Improvement in the quality of the farming communities and private sector through the use of high quality seeds and planting materials of superior crop varieties which increase crop productivity and enable them to produce high quality agriculture products that are globally competitive.


To formulate and implement plans and programs on seed quality assurance and control services to assure availability of high quality seeds and improved planting materials.



  • Formulates, recommends and implements plans and programs  on seed quality assurance  and  seed quality control services and activities on seed testing, plant/seed materials certification, and other quality control  schemes to be developed;
  • Conduct seed samplings and analysis, and issue the corresponding reports of analyses of samples drawn from locally produced and imported seed lots within the purview of the Seed Act;
  • Monitor seed quality control programs nationwide;
  • Maintain and operate National Seed Quality Control Services through seed testing and seed and plant material certification throughout the country; and
  • Accredit seed growers



Seed Certification Section

  • Accreditation of seed growers to produce various seed crops
  • Field inspection – inspection of the field by authorized seed inspectors at least three times per cropping season as per standards established such as isolation requirements, presence of off types, admixtures and weeds and incidences of seed-borne diseases and pests, among others.
  • Seed sampling – drawing of a quantity of seed from seed lot in accordance with the International Rules of Seed Testing or as prescribed by NSIC.
  • Seed Testing – accurate and prompt analysis of seed sample to determine the planting value of seed based on the methodologies prescribed by the ISTA.
  • Tagging – after all field and laboratory standards are met, seed lots are then issued certification tags. Different seed classes are issued different colors: white-breeder seeds; red-foundation seeds; green-registered seeds; and blue-certified seeds.
  • Inspection of seed warehouses, processing plants and seed producers/dealers‘ distribution centers and production areas.
  • Pre and post control test-investigation of growing cultivars and the occurrence of certain seed-borne diseases grown on field plots. It needs familiarity of well-trained staff with the characteristics of the variety.

Crops Eligible for Certification: 

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Sorghum
  • Mungbean
  • Peanut
  • Tobacco
  • White Potato
  • Cotton
  • Wheat
  • Soybean


Seed Testing Section - samples for different quality attributes in planting value such as germination, purity, varietal purity, moisture content, seed health, vigor, mechanical injury and other attributes are tested in accordance with the International Rules for Seed Testing (ISTA) or as prescribed NSIC. The following crops require seed testing:

  • Agricultural Seed and Vegetable Seed Tree
  • Shrub Seed Flower
  • Spice, Herb and Medicinal Species


Plant Material Certification Section - aims to produce and distribute high quality planting materials of superior crop varieties of known genetic and varietal purity including freedom from the seed-borne systemic diseases. This involves:

  • Formulate Plans and Programs on Plant Material Certification and Other Quality Control schemes to be developed
  • Conduct validation/revalidation of existing registered parent, foundation and scion tree, plantation and root crops based on formulated guidelines.
  • Conduct fruits samples for certification based on standard/guidelines.
  • Tagging of certified trees and seedlings of fruits, plantation crops and root crops.
  • Accredit tissue culture laboratory based on formulated standard/guideline for the production and distribution of tissue cultured planting materials.
  • Conduct monitoring of foundation and scion trees and seedling for certification and periodic monitoring of certified crops.

Contact #: 8936-2546 / 8288-4668


Regional NSQCS Stations:





National Capital Region

National Seed Quality Control Services (NSQCS)

Visayas Ave., Diliman, Quezon City

IRRI, UPLB, IPB, local and multi-national seed companies


NSQCS for Region 1

Tebag, Sta. Barbara, Pangasinan

La Union, Pangasinan, Ilocos Sur


Satellite NSQCS for Region 1

MMSU Compound, Tabug, Ilocos Norte

Ilocos Norte, part of Ilocos Sur

(Cordillera Administrative Region)


Guisad, Baguio City

Abra, Benguet


NSQCS for Region II

San Mateo, Isabela

Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino


Satellite NSQCS for Region II

Tuguegarao, Cagayan

Cagayan, Kalinga, Apayao


NSQCS for Region III

Maligaya, Muñoz, Nueva Ecija

Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Bataan, Aurora Province, Bulacan, Pampanga,Zambales


NSQCS for Region IV

Economic Garden, Los Baños, Laguna

Aurora, Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Marinduque, Palawan, Quezon, Rizal, Romblon


Satellite NSQCS for Region IV

Barcenaga, Naujan. Or Mindoro

Oriental Mindoro


Satellite NSQCS for Region IV

San Jose, Occidental Mindoro

Occidental Mindoro


Satellite NSQCS for Region IV

Irawan, Puerto Princesa, Palawan



NSQCS for Region V

San Agustin, Pili, Camarines Sur

Albay, Camarines Sur, Camnarines Norte, Masbate, Catanduanes


NSQCS for Region VI

Hamungaya, Jaro, Iloilo City

Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Iloilo, Guimaras


Satellite NSQCS for Region VI

La Carlota City, Negros Occidental

Negros Occidental


NSQCS for Region VII

Estancia, Mandaue City, Cebu

Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor


Satellite NSQCS for Region VII

Bohol Experiment Station, Ubay, Bohol



NSQCS for Region VIII


Eastern Leyte, Biliran, So. Leyte, Eastern Samar, So. Samar


NSQCS for Region IX

Ipil, Zamboanga del Sur

Zamboanga Sur, Zamboanga Norte, Zamboanga City, Basilan


NSQCS for Region X

Cagayan de Oro City

Bukidnon, Camuiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental


NSQCS for Region XI

Bago Oshiro, Davao City

Davao City, Davao del Sur, Davao Norte, Davao Or., So. Cotabato,Sarangani


NSQCS for Region XII

Bual, Midsayap, No. Cotabato

No., Cotabato, Cotabato City, Sultan Kudarat, Lanao del Sur, Lanao Norte, Maguindanao


NSQCS for Region XIII

Butuan City

Agusan Sur, Agusan Borte, Surigao Sur, Surigao Norte

Back to Top